Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason & Isata Kanneh-Mason

The winner of 2016’s BBC Young Musician of the Year performs Debussy, Mendelssohn, Fauré and Lutoslawski.

Beethoven Variations in F major Op 66 
Lutoslawski Grave
 Sonata in D minor 
Fauré  Élégie, Op 24
Mendelssohn Cello Sonata No 2 in D major Op 58

Sheku Kanneh-Mason is a cello sensation, winner of 2016’s BBC Young Musician of the Year, and a growing international player, admired for his rhapsodic inspirations, his astonishingly mature insights and his sheer joyful verve.

He enthralled and delighted listeners with his performance of Elgar’s Cello Concerto with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra at last year’s International Festival.

One of seven remarkable musical siblings who have been playing together for years, Sheku is joined by his older sister Isata for a rich programme of contrasts and connections. They move from the noble restraint of Debussy’s captivating, jewel-like sonata to the dramatic tensions of Mendelssohn’s potent, passionate, Bach-inspired Second Cello Sonata. In between, two poignant miniatures: Fauré’s achingly tender Élégie, and Lutoslawski’s haunting Grave.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason Cello
Isata Kanneh-Mason Piano

Beethoven Variations in F major Op 66 
Lutoslawski Grave
Debussy Sonata in D minor
Fauré  Élégie, Op 24
Mendelssohn Cello Sonata No 2 in D major Op 58

More information about the artists:

Sheku Kanneh-Mason
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Isata Kanneh-Mason
Twitter | Instagram

7 August 2019

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book or watch. The 2021 programme will be announced in June.