Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

The Orchestra of the Americas

Gabriela Montero plays Tchaikovsky

Conducted by Carlos Miguel Prieto, the youth orchestra are joined by world-renowned Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero for Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto.

The Orchestra of the Americas
Carlos Miguel Prieto Conductor

Gabriela Montero Piano

Chávez Symphony No 2 ‘Sinfonia india’
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No 1
Copland Symphony No 3 

Passionate, flamboyant, brilliantly incisive: The Orchestra of the Americas is one of the world’s most remarkable youth ensembles. Bringing together the most accomplished young musicians aged 18 to 30 from throughout North and South America in a single, powerful orchestra, it has toured the world to enormous acclaim.

Exuberant Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero is rightly one of today’s most admired musicians: she joins the Orchestra for the surging passions and unforgettable melodies of Tchaikovsky’s beloved First Piano Concerto.

Mexican conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto completes the programme with the hope, heroism and joyful optimism of Copland’s euphoric Third Symphony – complete with his Fanfare for the Common Man incorporated into its finale. He opens with the scintillating native rhythms of Mexican composer Carlos Chavez’s rousing Sinfonía india.

Join the Facebook event

This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 at a future date.

The Orchestra of the Americas
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Carlos Miguel Prieto

Gabriela Montero
Website | Facebook | Twitter

7 August 2018

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book or watch. The 2021 programme will be announced in June.

With thanks to our supporters

Supported by

Léan Scully EIF Fund